POEM: COROZAL MI TIERRA

mural.tqCorozal, my heart remembers you
Though the oceans seems to separate us
My heart and soul remain with thee
In the motherland of my fathers
The land which brought me forth
The small town of my heart
Corozal from here to there
Your people are my family
Your streets remain a memory
A memory of a second that shall never go away
The humble people that surround thee
The family which I never saw grow
Taken to a foreign land
Yet Corozal en mi Corazon tu vives
Your children play on your streets
The early risers to their feet
The sweat on the backs of those who fight to keep
The freedom of our land the great Belize
A hidden land of treasures
In my heart I will take those memories
Of a land that had become so dear to me
Corozal in my heart and soul
You shall live forevermore!

Copyright © 2015 Nathan Bonilla
Image Credit: HERE

4 comments

  1. Loved this poem. You are an excellent writer! i am new to both writing and wordpress and i was hoping you would give my blog a quick look and tell me what you think about it? it would be so helpful xx

    Like

    1. thank! and I will go ahead and visit your site soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thankyou so much!

        Like

  2. Well done friend. You can take a boy out of his hometown, but you cannot take the hometown out of the boy. It’s part of your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

