POEM: A SECOND OF A MEMORY

homeless-dude-big-beardRoque was his name
My memories of him are but a blur
I remember being in his arms as a child
His beard as thick as a brush
To me he was a giant in the midst
Roque was his name
For a few seconds those memories of him remain
A tall silent giant with a huge heart
Had come into our lives and filled all with love
But one day I can remember Roque I could not find
My uncle told me to a faraway land he had gone
I couldn’t understand with this young mind
But as life would go on I was able to understand
Roque was called home in the realm of eternity
He will never know the time with us spent
Till this day I carry that second of a memory in the hands of time

Copyright © 2015 Nathan Bonilla All Rights Reserved
Image Credit HERE

4 comments

  1. “A tall silent giant with a huge heart”
    You captured my heart with that poem. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. how tender this is

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A big heart for a big man!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really nice poem,soothing somehow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

