POEM: REMEMBER ME

Before he showed up
The crowds I heard
Kill him they screamed from hate within
So tense this day I could not think
There I hung with no purpose to be
Mistakes I had made
And today I would pay the price
I heard about Him as a young man
Heard about His coming from my parents
But in my greed for those earthly things
I wondered around and lost my way
Oh how to have a second chance I begged the judge
But this time I had come to the end of the road
No more chance to change this life
How I should have listened to those above
But there He is
Coming up this hill
They called Him master
But look at Him today
All I see is a broken man
As He comes closer His eyes fixed on me
I felt His stare pierce me from within
Could He feel what I was feeling?
As if He knew my every thought
In His eyes I saw peace
In His eyes I felt a deep love
I turn my head not to look His way
The screams I hear of agony as those nails pierce His hands
His feet are next I dare not to look
What has been His crime I ask myself?
There I see His mother weep
And those around Him call Him to quiet
But yet He continues to endure this cross
Who is this man?
Could it be?
Could He be the one my parents told me would come?
So many questions in such a time
As my life will end sooner than thought
But as they place Him next to me
The words come out my mouth without a thought and I scream
“Remember me when you come into your kingdom”
And there He answers me today
“I assure you that today you will be with me in paradise”
My journey ends my eyes I close
With this in mind
To be at home with my master in paradise

Copyright © 2015 Nathan Bonilla
Image Credit HERE

5 comments

  1. Beautiful! Peace, Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow that is so moving and beautiful, well done. Thank you for reading some of my work. I am really looking forward to reading more of yours, when I am not at work! much peace and light to you. Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, those words mean so much to me!

      Like

  3. Thanks for following me. This is a good peace. Going into the mind of the thief on the cross.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow that’s an inspiring perspective! Keep up the good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

