POEM: SILENT SOULS

homeless_day_1-greycroppedMany walk our streets
They roam as silent souls not seen
Yet in them lives an unknown story
Somewhere in the pages of the past they were once called upon
A young boy looking up to his father
A daughter needing a mother
But today they are forgotten in the midst of the crowds
They have become walking stories
Unknown to the creations amongst them
In the shadows of the tall buildings which surround them are they embraced
Yet they remain unknown
They carry with them the echoes of the past
Stories filled with such emotions that they have become oceans of endless lives
A simple smile
A simple notice is all they desire from those that run the streets as if they were not present
To only speak and see their thoughts
To only walk in their shoes for a time
What would we see?
How would we act?
But they continue in the shadows of the streets
While you and I go back to our homes
To our families
And yet they remain unknown
Those which I speak of are those alone
The walking and silent souls

Copyright ©2015 Nathan Bonilla All Rights Reserved
Image Credit:  HERE
10 comments

  1. jason c. segarra · · Reply

    sons & daughters , playing the ones subject to experiments conducted against their futures. they never saw it coming. gripping piece, sir.

    Like

  2. Well seen. May I reblog?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I am enjoying your work greatly, especially “Now I Understand”. Thanks for permission for reblog.

        Like

  3. “Silent Souls” is achingly, painfully beautiful, Nathan. Thank you. “Now I Understand” hits quite hard as well. My brother just died after a wasting illness; not that old, but his wife spent many a long night by his bedside.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cynthia, thank you so much for those words they mean a lot to me. My desire is for my poems to reach everyone and in any situation. Blessings to you!

      Like

  4. I understand the passion you write from. Every poet has a heart for pain and healing. We are kindred in spirit, writing just so happens to be my passion in word, poem and story. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    1. You hit it right on the spot, I had never thought about my poetry in that sense, thank you so much for those words of encouragement and inspiration!

      Like

  5. This lament made me think of Isaiah 58: “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—when you see the naked, to clothe them, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood? Then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear; then your righteousness will go before you, and the glory of the Lord will be your rear guard.Then you will call, and the Lord will answer; you will cry for help, and he will say: Here am I.”
    Good writing, especially the poetry like you write, always moves the reader’s soul. I am moved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

