POEM: ECHOES OF THE PAST

img_0399

The echoes of the past I hear so often
A scent brings back a time of fields filled with memories
Yet some were good
And some not so good
Those echoes of the past take me to a cave
A cave with the writings of all my past deeds
My memories as a child I see so clear
Oh how I desire to jump into the past
And listen to those thoughts
But those echoes of the past seem to haunt me
Not in a way to scare me away
But to bring to mind those memories of all those days
My how time has slipped away
Yesterday’s deeds are now just echoes of the past
Sometimes I wonder will these echoes go away
But deep down inside I do not want them to leave
To stay in this cave and re-live those moments
In these echoes I feel safe to replay those times
In the tears of my heart I hear those echoes of the past
They have made me who I am today
And though the time passes
In this cave I will remain
The echoes of the past I have become

Copyright (c) Juan N. Bonilla 2015 All Rights Reserved
Image Credit (HERE)
Leave a Reply

