POEM: THE MEMORY OF PAIN IS GONE

5338517551_4ce93e8c6cThey tell me it was real,
How from one second to another I was almost taken,
In my mind is only a glimpse,
a faded memory that staggers to hold on,
The scars are proof that it was not a dream,
On that day my life was seen in the hands of mercy it cling,
My mother’s screams I hear not,
The pain, I feel none
Her face, I see
The blood, I sense
But the pain is a memory gone,
As she carries me in her arms,
Life and death intersect,
A memory that has gone but it’s present still felt.

Copyright (c) Juan N. Bonilla 2015. All Rights Reserved
Image Credit: (HERE)
Leave a Reply

