POEM: The eyes of my father tell, of dreams of war

Flee Bombing

All around me I see it,
A war raging like never before,
Death I smell, blood I know,
Those that were with me yesterday are no longer here,
I awake and there lies her body,
Yesterday a woman full of life,
Today a corpse with no light,
I don’t understand?
I don’t know why?
These dreams of war keep me up all night,
These dreams of war take me back,
I see it clear through his eyes,
The stories of his life resound in his acts,
These dreams of war come from him,
The eyes of my father tell, of dreams of war.

Copyright (c) Juan N. Bonilla. All Rights Reserved 2015
Image Credit: (HERE)
Leave a Reply

