Preaching with an IPad

ipad-in-the-pulpitIt has been over 5 years since I have printed a sermon on my home printer. In my home office sits my mighty printer, which has not been used in over 5 years to print a sermon, devotional or message. I sometimes ask myself, why even have a printer, other than the fact that I can scan stuff on it, which rarely ever happens.

When the IPad 1 came out years ago, I was very skeptical about using it, but once I found out that it could be a great ministry tool I was convinced. There are many ways a pastor or ministry leader can use an IPad to preach from or read off a sermon or message. I personally have always preferred to write out my message on my laptop save a Word Doc copy and a PDF copy. Then I email that PDF copy to myself and then open it up on my IPad using the iBook’s app. Once I open it, I then save it to the section titled “Sermons” and that’s it.

Life has become much easier having all my sermons on one app and at my disposal anytime I want to review them, or use them again. Now when I am actually preaching, I always put my IPad on airplane mode in order not to be bothered or have some notification pop up while I’m speaking.

So if you are looking for a great way to be environmentally conscience and save some trees on the way, look to using an IPad as a way to read your sermons and not having to carry paper with you.

Now I will share that when I preach I always have an actual book Bible with me, as some people may be offended or may not understand using the IPad as a Bible, but that is a whole other post.

The apps I use for preaching are the following:

810GA8hhQALYouVersion Bible App. There are a lot of Bible apps out there, but for me this one works. It’s super easy to navigate and also I can keep as many Bible versions and languages I desire on it and use it offline when preaching.

 

6a0120a5580826970c019b002ae148970bIBooks, is over all the best for my digital library of books, sermons and any documents that I need to view on the spot and holds hundreds of books for you.

 

 

image credit: http://churchtechtoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/ipad-in-the-pulpit.jpg
Leave a Reply

